My Love Affair with Reality Television: Real Housewives of New York

When Bravo broke the news that they were eliminating half of the cast I spent every Thursday night with for three months, I was pissed. How dare you take away Kelly Bensimon when I was finally starting to like her?! I apprehensively and begrudgingly (not really) watched the fifth season premiere and from the looks of it, it’s going to be the most explosive season yet.

The Newbies

Heather Thomson

She’s made her fortune off of her shapewear line ‘Yummie by Heather Thomson‘ and has also worked with some of the biggest names in the fashion industry. Blah blah blah… the best part about Heather is her tagline in the opening credits where she introduces herself so articulately: ‘My success is built on making women look and feel their best.. HOLLA!’

I don’t even care if she turns out to be more insane than Ramona or is absolutely boring and pointless, she had me at ‘holla’.

Carole Radziwill

I took an instant liking to her, most likely due to the fact that she seems to be the most intelligent and level-headed cast member, but I know deep down she’s got some crazy just waiting to come out. I mean, Bravo wouldn’t have cast her if she didn’t, right?!

Carole has a Masters degree from NYU and in 1988 landed an internship with ABC News. Her accolades include three EMMYs for her work on Primetime Live and 20/20, a Robert F. Kennedy Humanitarian award, NY Times best-selling author and award-winning journalist.

Aviva Drescher

AVIVAAA. Her name is so fun to say! Aviva also obtained a Masters degree from NYU and later went on to earn her JD. A farm accident when she was a kid resulted in the amputation of her left leg and in the episode premiere she explains the different types of prosthetics she has such as her ‘flat leg’ and her ‘high heel horse’.

Like me, Aviva totally has a girl crush on Carole. I see a blossoming BFF relationship in their future.

The Oldies 

LuAnn de Lesseps

‘Daaahling.’ Ahh.. my favorite Countess. The woman who so perfectly makes trash talking and backstabbing

look classy.

Oh, and who can forget this? After all, elegance is learned, my friends!

Sonja Morgan

Oh, Sonia. I know you can be crazy, but I love you. I love that you so deeply believe in your psychic and are the queen of throwing uncomfortable parties.

A master of the toaster oven, it seems she has her own series of cooking lessons. Just in case anyone cares, you can watch her attempt at professionalism here.

Ramona Singer

Good ‘ol crazy eyes. You love your Pinos gris just as much as I do and for that, I could never hate you.

The quality of this clip is horrid, but it’s such a good representation of the aforementioned crazy eyes.

She Said What?

‘Between Sonja, LuAnn, me and Harry, this is quite a love fest.’ – Aviva

‘I don’t stir the pot, I stir the drink.’ – Sonja

‘If I was on the cover of the Learning Annex, you know, that free magazine that’s next to the trash cans on every street corner of New York CIty, I’d be questioning the direction of my career, not bragging about it.’ – Heather

‘I’m a little nervous about going to Sonja’s party tonight because she knows my ex-husband and she may have slept with him.’ – Aviva

‘The only thing worse than stale brioche at a party, is stale guests.’ – Sonja

‘I know that bag. Eric Clapton used to bring it to lunch and then we’d go play pool.’ – Sonja on Aviva’s prosthetic leg bag

‘I’m going to get a drink while you guys talk about kids.’ – Carole

‘She just added gasoline to the fire in a way like nobody’s business.’ – Aviva

The Real Housewives of New York airs Mondays at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo.

2 thoughts on “My Love Affair with Reality Television: Real Housewives of New York

  1. Arianna Marie says:

    See? Here I thought that ladies on these shows didn't do anything! Thanks for their little background bits! PS I saw that Romona lady's pic and the first thing I thought was, "Geeeeeze, lady! Cool it with that look!" then I saw the words "Good ol' crazy eyes" and it made sense. Lol

Leave a Reply

