DIY: Mod Podge Collage

This was one of my favorite projects to work on because of how much fun I had creating it. I decided to make a table top from this project but you can do this with anything: picture frames, memory box, canvas, furniture, it’s whatever YOU want! The inspiration for this project stemmed from a contest Nasty Gal was having. I had no idea how it would turn out since it was my first time working with Mod Podge, but I was thrilled with the results and decided to keep this for myself. =)

What you need:

Mod Podge
Pictures (I used images printed on printer paper, but you can use magazine, newspaper, etc. The number of images you need will depend on the size of your base, it’s always good to have extra to play around with)
Base (I used a wooden round from Home Depot, but again, it’s whatever you prefer)
Paint brush or paint sponge
Spray paint (optional)
Scissors

DIY!

1. Gather your images and cut around them
2. Position them on base how you want them to be
3. Take a picture of your layout so you remember your placement
4. Spray paint base (This is optional. If you don’t want to spray paint your base, you can skip steps 3 and 4)
5. Once your base has dried, mentally divide it into sections and pick one to start with
6. Brush a layer of Mod Podge on a small section and brush a layer onto the image you are placing down. Once image has Mod Podge on, place on base and smooth out any wrinkles or bubbles, wipe excess Mod Podge off with a paper towel. Continue until completed
7. Once all of your images have been placed, brush a coat or two of Mod Podge over entire surface to seal your images
8. Voilá! You are done! Enjoy! =)

Below is my image I submitted to Nasty Gal for the project. I added painted wooden letters spelling out their motto, Nasty Gals Do It Better, for the picture. The contest was to create your own image with their slogan. My creation was featured on their Instagram (@nastygal) and their blog!

Check me out on Instagram (@kimbebe) and see this project along with other DIYs =)

2 thoughts on “DIY: Mod Podge Collage

Leave a Reply

