Ri-Cipe: Ri-mixed Piña Pizza

Everyone is entitled to make an unhealthy/lazy dinner decision every once in a while, right? That’s what I tell myself, anyway. I had a Domino’s coupon on my front door and decided that’s what I was going to have for dinner. I’m pretty predictable when it comes to pizza. I’ll have cheese or pineapple as the topping and that is all…but since coupon was for a 2-topping, I decided to shake things up. What would go well with piña? Roasted red pepper! Why hadn’t I tried this before? Needless to say, it was delicious and I shot it for Instagram to see. Darcy (Kimberly) asked if it could be this week’s Ri-cipe, so here it is!

**I recreated the Domino’s pizza at home**

Ingredients
•Pizza dough (or pre made crust) I found a simple dough recipe online
•2C cheese (I used an Italian blend)
•1 small can tomato sauce or pizza sauce
•1 8oz can pineapple chunks
•Roasted red peppers (optional)
•Spices to add to your pizza sauce
•Olive oil to brush the dough

Super easy steps
Start with clean hands
Preheat oven to 425

1. Cut toppings to desired size

2. Spread sauce on pizza crust (avoid the edges)

3. Sprinkle cheese evenly on top of sauce

4. Add piña and red peppers

*brush outer ring with olive oil*

5. Bake until cheese is bubbly and crust is golden

First stages (before baking toppings)

Top left is the Domino’s pizza. Bottom right is the Ri-mixed version. Other two are both [cold] pizzas side by side

Notes

I saved money by making my own pizza dough, but it was time-consuming.

If you make your own dough, bake it by itself for 10 minutes.

I was going to roast a fresh red pepper, but it was more economical to buy a jar or them.

The homemade pizza could have been cheaper than the delivered pizza if I had had the roasted red peppers on hand because you don’t even need half a jar.

When I first baked the pizza, I didn’t add the entire (drained) can of piña, but I decided to add them after. Use the whole 8oz can, trust me!

Leave a Reply

