My Happiness Project

One of my goals for 2014 is to read more books. When I noticed a bright blue book titled The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin, resting on my night stand, I decided it was the perfect book to kick off not only my goal list, but the new year. (Note: I purchased this book in August at the Las Vegas airport, but didn’t get around to reading it until that day.) The Happiness Project is about Rubin’s journey of resolutions and goals that take place over one year. While reading, I felt inspired by her project. I already create list of goals for myself every new year, and decided to take it to the next level.

photo

I modeled part of my happiness off of Grubin’s and integrated my goals for 2014 into it as well. My hope is to post a review and the end of each month to monitor how I did. Each month will focus on some aspect of my life, be it the relationship with my boyfriend, my friends, my family, or myself. Below is a soft outline of what I hope to experience this year.

(Note: *goals listed in my 2014 goals)

January: Boost Energy
This will consist of getting more sleep, exercising three days a week*, and de-cluttering my space.

February: Remember Love
No nagging! Don’t expect praise, no dumping, and give proofs of love.

March: Aim Higher
Apply myself more at work, keep up with my blog and network, find the beauty in my long runs*.

April: Contemplate the Heavens
Keep a gratitude journal*, meditate, practice yoga*, and see more sunrises*.

May: Make Time for Friends
Don’t bother with negativity and negative people, stay in touch, less gossip, friend dates.

June: Pay Attention
Be a more active listener, eat less processed food*, cook more and eat out less*, drink more water*.

July: Be Serious About Play
Travel (explore a new country in Europe, Boston, Palm Springs, Big Sur)*, go off the path (camp Yosemite*, swim under a waterfall*, yoga retreat*), conquer fears (skydive*), hike more*.

August: Pursue a Passion
Read more*, play with photography, keep notes of positive sayings.

September: Lighten Up
Create more (crafts, diy, etc.), be a treasure house of happy memories, stress less*.

October: Buy Some Happiness
Splurge on a want, buy items for DIY projects and home decor.

November: Keep a Contented Heart
Be more positive, be less critical, find an area of refuge.

December: Boot Camp Perfect
Work out any kinks of the project.

Hope you enjoy my happiness project and maybe this will inspire you to start your own! Check back monthly for updates on how I’m doing.

6 thoughts on “My Happiness Project

  1. Rebeccca says:

    What a great way to organize your goals! I love it. It breaks them all down into manageable pieces, instead of feeling like you need to do everything all at once (and then getting overwhelmed – could explain why so many people abandon their resolutions). Good luck!

    • Kimberly says:

      Thank you, Rebecca! Writing things down and breaking them up into pieces is the only way I accomplish tasks! I have a total scatter-brain without it! I’m interested to see how it goes. Check back in with me when I post my January wrap up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

