Happiness Project Report: January

At the beginning of the month, I started my very own Happiness Project. January focused on boosting energy, which included getting more sleep, exercising three days a week, and de-cluttering my space. I did good this month, not great. I was traveling a lot in January, bouncing from Tahoe to Hawaii literally the next day! I’ve decided that the best way I can grade how I fared is with a rating system of 1-10, 1 being failed and 10 being perfect.

Getting more sleep was a struggle for me. Oddly, the days I went to sleep early were the days I was on vacation! In Hawaii, I must have been so worn out from all the fun I was having, because I was in bed by 9 P.M. every night! When I returned from Hawaii, I made a promise to myself that I would get in bed before 9 P.M. every week night in anticipation that I would wake up fresh and full of life for work the next morning. Unfortunately, this didn’t happen. While I did get in bed by my designated time (once at 7:30 P.M.!), every night I was struck with monkey brain and could not fall asleep until after midnight. It was incredibly frustrating and something that I undeniably need to work on. 5/10

Exercising three days a week was a walk in the park for me, thanks to my half marathon training. I’ve been consistent with running 3-4 days a week, even on vacation! This is something I am certainly proud of myself for. My running took a little hit after I returned from Hawaii. I think it was a combination of exhaustion and dehydration. Let me tell you, I absolutely felt a difference. I couldn’t run a solid 2.5 miles, which because of my training is normally really easy for me. Because of this, I was grumpy and not happy. I decided to take a couple days off from exercising, and when I returned I came back stronger than ever, running a solid 8 miles! 9/10
20140128-113903.jpg

De-cluttering my space was something I desperately needed! I have a serious embarrassing procrastination problem when it comes to laundry. I just hate it. I mean, I can do the easy part of putting dirty clothes in the washer and switching them into the dryer, but it’s the folding and putting away part I am terrible at. I am happy to say that this month, I conquered laundry. In fact, I owned laundry. Not only did I put my clothes away every time, but I did a closet edit resulting in a bag of donations. I also cleaned out and organized my garage, cleaned out my car, and picked up around my room. I didn’t de-clutter everything I had hoped to, but my plan is to keep up with this every month (I’m looking at you, pesky laundry.) 7/10

Overall, January was a good month for me. I got to relax and rejuvenate, travel, organize, and make new personal records. As I begin to embark on February’s project, I will continue to bring January’s with me. I hope you enjoyed as much as I did. Check back here for my next report!

Leave a Reply

