Living Wild

I’ve been reading one book a month in honor of my New Years Resolution to read more books. My favorite book I have read so far is Wild by Cheryl Strayed. Reading Wild was an experience that I hadn’t previously had with any other book. Strayed’s journey is full of inspiration, and presented me with an opportunity to take a look at my life and the way I want to live it. Strayed’s words are carefully crafted and intensely beautiful.

“Whatever happens to you belongs to you. Make it yours. Feed it to yourself even if it feels impossible to swallow. Let it nurture you, because it will.” 

The best thing you can possibly do with your life is to tackle the motherfucking shit out of it.” 

“Most things will be okay eventually, but not everything will be. Sometimes you’ll put up a good fight and lose. Sometimes you’ll hold on really hard and realize there is no choice but to let go. Acceptance is a small, quiet room.” 

“Nobody will protect you from your suffering. You can’t cry it away or eat it away or starve it away or walk it away or punch it away or even therapy it away. It’s just there, and you have to survive it. You have to endure it. You have to live through it and love it and move on and be better for it and run as far as you can in the direction of your best and happiest dreams across the bridge that was built by your own desire to heal.” 

and my favorite:

“I knew that if I allowed fear to overtake me, my journey was doomed. Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves, and so I chose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told. I decided I was safe. I was strong. I was brave. Nothing could vanquish me.” 

photo 1

For me, living wild means living without regrets. It means living not without fear, but with strength to overcome it. Living wild means living your truth, free from fear of judgement from others. Srayed struggled with the death of her mother, the destruction of her marriage, and drug use before embarking on her trek of more than 1,000 miles along the Pacific Crest Trail. She learned how to physically and emotionally survive on our own while discovering her strength along the way. We are only granted one life and we are the ones who hold the power to choose how we want to live it. Both good and bad occurrences will inevitably happen to us that may be out of our control. What is in our control, however, is the way we react to them. The strength we need to overcome obstacles is within us all, and sometimes we need to fight like hell to get through them, but the most important thing is that we don’t ever stop fighting.

 

“How wild it was, to let it be.” 

One thought on “Living Wild

Leave a Reply

