Zoodles of Fun

If there’s one thing my close friends and family know about me, it’s that I absolutely love pasta. If I could, I would eat pasta every day of my life! I find it impossible for someone to not feel the same immense love for pasta that I do. While loving it is great, the calories are not.

I have dabbled with zucchini noodles and spaghetti squash before, and found them to be a healthy and guilt free alternative when needing a pasta fix. Last week, I decided to invest in my own spiralizer. I purchased the Paderno Spiralizer off of Amazon for only $38, and let me tell you, it is well worth the money! The other night my roommate had some zucchini lying around, so we took the spiralizer out of the box for its first spin.

20140422-091358.jpg
Zucchini noodles are a great alternative to spaghetti. According to SF Gate, “Each medium zucchini provides 33 calories, 6.1 grams of total carbohydrates and 2.0 grams of fiber, which works out to only 4.1 grams of net carbs. Net carbs are the amount of carbs that your body can actually digest, and which can contribute to increasing your blood sugar levels. By comparison, a 2-cup serving of wheat pasta contains approximately 90 grams of carbohydrates.” I am a bit of a picky eater, so trust me when I say that zucchini noodles are delicious!
20140422-091325.jpg
End result: zucchini noodles with an avocado spinach sauce and topped with broccoli, corn, and tomato.

Do any of you have a spiralizer? What is your favorite thing to make with it?

One thought on “Zoodles of Fun

Leave a Reply

