A Look Back on 2014

I can’t believe that 2014 has come and gone. The Mr. and I were talking the other day about how we spent our New Years last year and it seriously feels as though it was only a few months ago! 2014 was an incredible year for me, and I know that 2015 will offer even more joy, love, and happiness. I was reflecting back on my goals for 2014 that I wrote last December, and wanted to see how accurately my year reflected those goals.

IMG_7568

A few health and fitness goals I had and stuck to throughout the year were: exercise three times a week, drink more water, and complete a half marathon. I accomplished some travel/adventure goals as well, such as explore a new county in Europe (London!), camp Yosemite, and hike often. Lastly, I had goals for obtaining a healthier mind and spirit. Some of those were to start a gratitude journal, read more, see more sunrises, and cook often.

For 2015, I want to continue working toward a lot of these goals, but also introduce some new ones into to my life. In 2015, I want my main focus to be on self-healing and creating a positive lifestyle from the inside out. I know how to take care of my body on the outside by eating good food and regular exercise, but often times I forget to take care of my mind and spirit. Stress is a huge problem for me. My mom always tells me that my biggest problem is worrying about situations that aren’t happening, or in fact, may never happen. Stressing less is always on my goal list for the New Year, but rarely do I feel like I succeed in it. So, 2015 is the year I stop talking about it, and actually be about it. Another thing I want to work on is having more trust in myself. I am my harshest critic. I tend to doubt myself a lot and give myself a hard time when I make mistakes. I lose faith in myself easily and get discouraged if things don’t go according to my plan. These behaviors do not a peaceful soul make.

I still plan to see more sunrises, hike whenever possible, maintain a gratitude journal, and read as often as I can, but 2015 will be about healing from the inside out, and I am looking so forward to it.


In this post, I want to include some of my favorite posts from the past year. Here they are:

For a little inspiration: Living Wild

For when you don’t think you can accomplish something: How Running Changed My Life

For a little wanderlust: Waikiki Beach 2014, or Why I Wish I Were an Island Girl

For finding the beauty in nature: Snapshots of Table Mountain


Leave a Reply

