Accessorizing Your Home

Fashion and interior design are two pretty peas in a pod. As a statement necklace can tie together an outfit, the right home accessory can make a living room look über chic.

Slowly but surely, I’ve been re-designing the interior of our home. In the name of frugality, I have been using what we have and finding innovative and creative ways to mix things up. For example, I’ve switched out our gray rug downstairs and replaced it with our deep sea green rug that we kept in our room, my mom has offered to create new pillow covers for the couch decor pillows with fabrics of my choice, and I’ve also found some really great Ikea hacks on Pinterest that I plan to take full advantage of.

Because I’m not in the position to go crazy and buy an entirely new living room set along with awesome accessories (I’m looking at you, upcoming wedding and brand new car), I get my interior design fixes from other blogs and spend a lot of time window – er – screen shopping online. I was introduced to the kind folks at Modani and designed a virtual living room using some of the beautiful pieces from their store that gave me serious design lust. Take a look below to see what I’ve come up with!

ModaniWhen designing my virtual living room, I wanted to create a super modern and chic set with color accents. I was instantly drawn to the Onyx Sofa Bed from Modani’s collection of modern sofas, most likely because it’s something I know I could never realistically have in my house thanks to these two crazy pups of mine. I love that, while risky, white furniture looks super fresh and elegant. I brought some of my personal style and taste into the design by adding pops of color with the neon yellow and blue throw pillows, as well as the moroccan style pouf. The Mateo Cream Rug added some dimension and tied in really well with the Boden floor lamp. After all of this, I still felt as though I needed one more accessory to really make this living room set-up cohesive. Enter, the statement-making Solaris mirror.

Leave a Reply

